Welcome to the Manchester Noisy Quantum Systems Group (MaNQS)


       We work on the theory of open quantum systems, with an emphasis on developing new methods applicable beyond

       standard approximations. Applications range from thermodynamics to solid-state quantum devices and molecular systems.


       Group Members  


Ahsan Nazir

 University webpage and contact details

Senior Lecturer and EPSRC Early Career Fellow, School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Manchester






       Adam Stokes (Postdoc) – gauge ambiguities in quantum electrodynamics       

       Zach Blunden-Codd (Postdoc) – open quantum system mappings

       Harry Miller (1851 Fellow) – quantum thermodynamics

       Owen Diba (PhD student) – noise in shortcuts to adiabaticity

       Matthew Kandiah (PhD student) – non-equilibrium quantum systems


       Former members:

       Jake Iles-Smith (PhD student, Postdoc) – now Presidential Fellow in Manchester, https://www.research.manchester.ac.uk/portal/jake.iles-smith.html

       Dave Newman (PhD student) – quantum thermodynamics with strong reservoir interactions

       Henry Maguire (PhD student) – quantum optics of molecular systems with strong vibrational coupling

       Conor McConnell (PhD student) – transport and full counting statistics with strong environmental coupling

       Tamsin James (PhD student) – adiabatic open quantum systems





Congratulations to Conor on passing his PhD viva!

Thesis title “Counting Statistics for Electron Transport at Strong Phonon Coupling and Classical Emulation of Quantum Machines”


       Congratulations to Harry on his 1851 Fellowship!



PhD opportunities: If you are interested in applying for a PhD place with the group then please feel free to get in touch to discuss the possibility. More information on the process can be found here: https://www.manchester.ac.uk/study/postgraduate-research/programmes/list/03161/phd-physics/


Fellowships: We are also interested to hear from strong candidates who are keen to apply to fellowship schemes, such as the UKRI Future Leaders Fellowships, EPSRC Fellowships, Royal Society URFs, the Royal Commission 1851 Fellowship, Marie Curie Fellowships, and Newton International Fellowships.




       Please see Google Scholar for a full list: https://scholar.google.co.uk/citations?hl=en&user=IuYH1HcAAAAJ&view_op=list_works&sortby=pubdate


       For arXiv preprints please see: https://arxiv.org/search/?searchtype=author&query=Nazir%2C+A